This is my first time…

… I’ve developed a black and white film myself. Yay! This is one of the few good photos from these first 2 rolls of film. I’ll post some more later.

Not that anyone asked, but just for the record and those curious I’ll say a couple of words about my impressions.

  1. So, it really turned out not that scary and messy as it seemed. Especially now when all the chemicals are ready it’s only a matter of loading that tank with film.
  2. I’ve always loved that feeling of getting my rolls from the photo lab, dashing home longing to fire up the scanner asap. Well now I love it even more! And there is a new part to it: cheer and joy when you open the tank and take out the film and see it actually worked.
  3. My main challenge was not the right receipt or anything like that, no. It was the weather. I live in a desert and we’ve got some hot days at the  moment, so my main issue was to cool the chemicals.
  4. Note to myself for the next time: buy those spongy tongs (or wetting agent)! Though I tried to use a soft suede cloth to remove water drops there are still very visible stains, which don’t look good at all.
  5. I’ve read and watched many instructions on how to do it, but no one ever mentioned a problem when your film is longer than the spiral. I had no choice but cut those last frames off. So what’s the point of shooting past the 36 frames mark anyway?

Ok, I think it’s enough for now.

Developing film on your own is not a big deal of course for those who are deep into photography, but for me it is a big step. A bit forced but anyway. Now I can continue shooting film even living in the middle of nowhere.

I would really like to hear some stories about your first developing experience, tips on how to deal with those issues I mentioned above or just your thoughts on the photos.

 

 

2 thoughts on “This is my first time…

  1. Congratulations. It’s a fascinating process, although I admit, I didn’t realize folks were still doing it that way. My first experience developing film in a darkroom was about 45 years ago so the memories are pretty vague. I thought there was an optional finishing chemical that would help inhibit drops forming while the film drys. It’d be something to look into anyway.

    1. Thank you, Dave. Yeah, there is a so called wetting agent, looks like a shampoo, the drops just slide off the film afterwards.
      I used to help my dad in the darkroom when I was a kid, but with printing. So my memories are mostly about that, and many fun things like paper clips and stuff settled down in my toy box later. Developing film, though, passed by me somehow.

Leave a Reply

