Looking for a source of inspiration

This post is about inspiration.

When I just started my way into street photography, I didn’t figure out what exactly I want to shoot right from the beginning. As I had never done this before, I was confused, but I realised that this genre is what I enjoy the most.

So, I needed some guidance to help me understand what is street photography. This is when I found this website, iN-PUBLiC.com. It calls itself a home for street photographers and rightly so. Though not boasting the likes of Cartier-Bresson or Winogrand among their authors, the site’s portfolio features some acclaimed street photographers of modern times, like Matt Stuart, David Gibson or Gus Powell.

I have to say that discovery of this resource shaped my view of street photography and gave the direction to follow. If you haven’t heard of this website before, please visit it and you won’t regret.

 

Now, when I’m living far from the maddening crowd of the city, I’m struggling with my new demon: what do I shoot here? As I’ve said before I continue using film cameras, but without this street atmosphere, I find it hard to see anything worth shooting with them. The rhythm of life here is so different that I didn’t make a single photo after an hour of walking around the nearest town. So, again, what I needed was an inspiration.

 

#35mm #superia400

A photo posted by Scott (@tsbehr) on Jun 20, 2016 at 3:04pm PDT

 

Fortunately, I’ve come across this  Instagram account of a person who lives in a place very similar to mine, and he uses film cameras to picture the life around. I’m not into landscape photography, which would seem only logical when you live in a secluded area, but as it turns out shot with expired film nature photos can look at least interesting. And of course those sunny lit bits of rural life, constructions and seemingly deserted places touch some strings in my soul, and I feel this new kind of street photography might be the way to go.

We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

