The ultimate phone for photographers?

Since my very first smartphone (HTC Desire S it was) the camera on my phone has been a vital component. Whenever I considered getting a new phone, I was always looking for a quality snapper. And it’s been a hell of a dilemma as well, because every time I had to decide whether I want to stay with Android and probably deal with some meh camera, or should I switch to iPhone and have to deal with some meh OS. But in the last couple of years the issue seems to have vanished, with so many great smartphones capable of shooting really well.

Here I would skip the sad part of me buying HTC One M8, a Dual Camera of which I described here, and fast forward to a smartphone, that will replace it in the nearest future (hopefully). It’s LG G5 of course.

If you’re into tech or mobile photography, you know about it already. It was announced at MWC2016 a couple of weeks ago and is to be released some time in April. One of its major features is dual camera module with a “standard” 16-megapixel sensor and a wide angle 8mp one. Cameras can be used separately and simultaneously, in the latter scenario you get a number of combinations of a “standard” photo inside the wide-angled one.

To make things even more exciting for mobile photographers there is also a separate module you can attach to the phone. The module is a kind of a camera grip hump with a zoom wheel, shutter button and additional battery. Here is a video from DigitalTrends where they take a closer look at all this.

Well, what can I say? Want it! Absolutely and surely.

2 thoughts on “The ultimate phone for photographers?

    1. The LG G4 and V10 cameras were hugely praised and called the best there is, so I’m sure you can find any G4 vs Note 4 test or whatever and get an idea of how G5 will compare.

Leave a Reply

