Lunch

This photo is special to me, though it’s far from perfect. Almost two years ago, when I only started taking pictures, I was very impressed by the works of some true street photographers, like Matt Stuart or David Gibson to name a few.  All those cunning, funny or miraculously lucky moments captured by the photographers inspired me to take my camera and go outside.

One thing I got from the photos and their authors’ comments was that you should take a picture of everything you think might be interesting. Another thing was that it’s ok to take “ordinary pictures” and not care about composition or the angle sometimes. If it’s a great moment to shoot, shoot. A moment of hesitance and it’s gone.

One more thing I learned from the masters is tightly connected to the previous two. Luck is what can make an ordinary photo a spectacular one, genius even. And that’s why you should not hesitate to shoot, because you never know what can happen the very moment you push the button.

Going back to the photo presented, I can say that all three things are here. I came to a restaurant for lunch and saw that man near the window. I liked the light and his gloomy (or just thoughtful) face and took a picture. I took several photos at that restaurant that day following the “shoot-almost-everything” principle, but my luck was only with this one.

“What’s so lucky about the pic?” you might ask and I’ll tell you to look carefully at the man on the right passing by. If you look carefully enough you’ll notice that it’s not just a man passing the window the gloomy man is looking through, but a reflection of the man, who hasn’t passed that window yet. We can see his reflection in a glass wall installed inside the restaurant and he was just passing the entrance door at the moment. My description may sound messy and difficult, if it so to you, just look carefully at the photo.

Nevertheless, even despite this green grain and underexposure, I consider the photo one of my truly street ones. It has a moment, a character to look at (and maybe to try to guess his story) and a composition completed by a lucky chance.

Leave a Reply

